Instagram | Love & Hate

Instagram has become quite the phenomenon. I consider it a fulfilling way to share ideas, places, and people. I almost consider it a diary, where anyone and everyone is welcome to take a step into my shoes and have a preview of my life. Although I enjoy the thoughts behind Instagram, I barely consider it a type of photography. The images seem to be more “snapshots” merely thought about, and present a “stumbled upon” moment. I do not necessarily agree with the idea that there are “Instagram Professionals” out there. As a photographer,  I find a simple mobile image considered as a photograph almost insulting. Unfortunately to my upcoming profession, I am finding that many individuals are seeing photography as a revenue that they can participate in without the need of professional help. Which leaves me with the thought, if technology continues to share ideas such a Instagram, what’s left for the actual photographer?

Leave a Reply

